Skip to content

“The Time Has Come,” for a few Firsts

March 9, 2012

This is a true first for me, in many ways. It is my first attempt at video, recording myself, using my outdated camera, posting a self-made video—and this is the first and only take.

I recorded Pentangle’s “Time Has Come,” my favorite Pentangle song. I have to thank Sherry Ladig who, years ago, introduced me to these “folks,” or at least she was encouraged my affinity with her enthusiastic expertise on these great musicians.

You can learn more about Sherry and the band Dunquin, made Sherry Ladig (piano), Don Ladig (her swell husband on flute and whistles) and Kathleen Green (fiddle) at http://www.sherryladig.com/bands/dunquin/.

So, forgive the videography, I’m a newbee. Forgive the missed word or two in the lyrics, and the fumble with the strings. I have few words this week, but this song was sitting, waiting to be played for someone other than the idle books on my book case.

In the mean time, I am working on a couple of pieces, one of which will be showcased in a reading by Givens Foundation Emerging Writer Fellows on April 24th at Intermedia Arts in Minneapolis, so save the date. Hope to see you there.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Joe Polta permalink
    March 9, 2012 2:35 pm

    Wow, Clarence. More of that, please.

    • March 9, 2012 2:40 pm

      Coming from a person who has actually had more than just a few music lessons, I have to say you are too kind. Not sure the world can live with more of this, but next time, I will have to cut my finger nails.

  2. carolyn will permalink
    March 9, 2012 3:37 pm

    Nice, clarence. I haven’t heard you play in a longtime.

  3. March 9, 2012 5:32 pm

    whoa! I had no idea! You are a man of many hidden talents!

  4. March 9, 2012 5:55 pm

    Hey Clarence—you never know where a chance conversation will lead to, years later. I loved Pentrangle; haven’t heard them for while, after I got into the Irish trad music as the “pure drop” form. Thanks for mentioning my website. Hope to see you sometime at one of our events. And keep making the music!–XO, Sherry

    • March 10, 2012 9:15 am

      I know you guys are the pros. I hope I can find a spot to catch one of the gigs. But you know I’m busy being a video star.

  5. March 9, 2012 9:21 pm

    way to G-R-O-W 😉

    xoxo

    • March 10, 2012 8:39 am

      Next time, I will use Technicolor. and maybe scantly clad dancers in the background.

  6. March 9, 2012 9:35 pm

    Playing and singing-you have sprung! Rock on Clarence.

  7. Trish FJ permalink
    March 10, 2012 8:24 am

    Clarence – thanks for making my Saturday morning even sweeter…

  8. March 10, 2012 9:01 am

    I love that puzzled look of yours in the ending…..was there something rattling in the guitar??? LOL….anyway, not to go too overboard here, you are an amazing guy, writing, videoing, singing and playing ….wow. Work on it Clarence….there just doesn’t seem to be enough time in the world to do all the things we like. Fine tuning, you could be a modest hit. Your approach is modest…and rightly so. Thanks for the morning highlight!

  9. March 11, 2012 10:23 pm

    Clarence!
    You are a kickass guitarist and not a bad singer either. I am very impressed. More,more!!!!
    Carla

    • March 11, 2012 10:57 pm

      More? Carla, this is just an excuse for not writing. I’m a duffer. Maybe I should take a lesson.

      In the mean time, waiting your your next blog post.

Leave a comment