Skip to content

Stories and News

September 15, 2012

Thursday, I had the great privilege of reading with Saint Paul Poet Laureate Carol Connolly, Kofi Bobby Hickman, Diego Vázquez Jr., Saymoukda Vongsay, Tish Jones, Tou SaiKo Lee, Loren Niemi, Brenda Bell Brown, and Kemet Imhotep at the 2013 Saint Paul Almanac Launch Party (http://saintpaulalmanac.org/almanac-events/2013-almanac-release-party/).  They all gave amazing performances.  The story that I loved best was from Saymoukda Vongsay, her family’s harrowing journey from Laos to Thailand and eventually to St. Paul.  Touching.  Be sure to get your copy of this year’s Almanac.  It should be at most independent bookstores, co-ops, coffee shops and other places.
I read a version of one of my more popular stories.  “An 11-Year-Old Profile in Courage.”  People tell me that this story makes them cry. I does that to me, too.

I was told the same thing about last week’s story/blog post, “The Last Running Summer.”  I hope you will read it if you have not gotten the chance.

Maybe these are reminders that childhood is not easy, but there are heroes to made out of that vaulted institution–that childhood is.
Next week, a great place for the kids and poets and nature lovers will be Silverwood Park in St. Anthony.  I am part of the Art on Foot ongoing exhibition where you can go and find my poetry by dialing your phone at Stop #5.  Next Saturday, September 22, there will be a day-long Find the details on this “Field Trip” HERE.
In the mean time, thank you all for continuing to read and share the words here.  I hope you have a good week!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

