Skip to content

Waiting for the Slam (Friday, July 15, 2011)

July 22, 2011

Friday, July 15, 2011

Waiting for the Slam

Anxious

i have not

memorized any

of my poems

 

 

not liking my poems

today. scared of every

person, young or old

hipster, chic, beatnik

literatea who might jockey

into my spot

 

not ready

what am i doing here?

 

 

who is the dude

with guitar, bandana?

cigarette, dreads

back backpack

halter, tie-die

 

 

these messages are

your poem, she says

but the faces behind

the artsy swagger, their

critical ears too hip

for me.

 

 

i tell her this, that

it is okay fer her to

come carrying conflict

and tears

 

 

energy mixed with

all the other cool

love, anger, pain, joy

flirt, scowl

this is an

interactive game

 

 

the lines form

full of questions

and attitude

and verve

 

must i perform

for them, for me?

i am anxious and

i forgot to eat

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2011 1:01 pm

    i know how nerve-racking it can be to wait for your turn at a slam. will you ever do it again???

  2. July 25, 2011 1:02 pm

    Maybe. I’m not a slammer. Not a performer, really, and I know that is what folks are there for, but it was a chance to give a little more life to my writing, so some kind of reading thing is sure to come, if i can find it. I have a few ideas, suggestions, but we will see.
    July 17, 2011 1:52 PM

  3. July 25, 2011 1:03 pm

    The cool thing was that in letting people know about the slam, my friend Pat thought to bring her grandchildren. One of them is a high school girl named Dejah who performed a couple of her works. It was very cool. She had game–and a clear mind to speak to the small mass at the coffee shop and to the rest of the world. Right on, Dejah. Wish I had a voice like that when I was her age, although it likely would have gotten me killed where I lived.
    July 17, 2011 6:58 PM

Leave a Reply

